comic journalism

2016 review / 2017 and on

It’s done! 2016 is done!

I will choose to only speak personally/in terms of career etc. in this post, because otherwise this post will drag on for two more years of introspective about life and my country and such.

In 2016, I created this blog. Since then:

This upcoming year, I won’t be doing An Artist a Week because, well, it took a lot of time and I wasn’t good at keeping up with it. I might instead try to do a monthly spotlight of artists I admire.

I will definitely be continuing with the Female and Nonbinary Creator spotlights and absolutely encourage more people fill them out! Click here for female surveys and click here for nonbinary surveys. You can skip any questions you don’t want to answer, or answer as much or little as you like. Creators can be artists, writers, publishers, editors, or anything else you can think of, and webcomics, self-published zines, and graphic novels all count. This one really is my passion, so feel free to share either link to those you think would be interested.

I’m also going to up my comic readership this year (*looks guiltily at stack of unread comics*) and try to do more reviews of things I enjoy (or don’t, but usually I pick good things!).

Finally, I’m going to continue to give little updates about my comics research. I’ve got some important stuff coming up to submit to the Comics Art Conference, and I’m waiting to hear back about my submission to the International Journal of Comic Art. Whether or not it’s accepted I’ll post about my research here, and we’ll find out together where this scholar road trip takes me.

I’m always on the lookout for more things for my blog. If you have suggestions or something comes up that you would like to hear my opinion on, you can email me at ashleybles1234@gmail.com or DM me on twitter @Beebidon.

In the meantime, expect the teeniest hiatus while I get my ducks in a row. I’m moving to a new apartment and that’s tons of fun and distraction. I’m also looking at rebranding and possibly changing my blog name/url. I chose both in a quick panic when this was a little class assignment and now I’d like branding that works for me. Looking forward to finding out what that is as I go!

Happy New Year, and be good to each other! ❤

Got something to say?

