Comic news · Queer comics · Review

What’s on your pull list?

It occurs to me that I haven’t talked much lately here about what I’m personally reading. (I do often tweet about it if you follow me on twitter!)

Some things on my radar (and my current pull list) right now:

  • Snotgirl, by Bryan Lee O’Malley (of Scott Pilgrim vs. the World) and Leslie Hung. It’s deceptively deep, delightfully funny and cute, and still very early in (issue 3 just dropped) so I’m intrigued in what the plot is shaping up to be.
  • Zodiac Starforce, by Kevin Panetta and Paulina Ganucheau. I’m pretty sure I’ve written about it before but basically it’s just delightfully fun, cute, and features a lovely diverse cast (including a queer couple, yay!).
  • DC Bombshells, by Marguerite Bennett (who just announced a Batwoman title!) and Marguerite Sauvage. I’ve admittedly just started this series but I’m in love. It’s an alternate reality where DC girls like Batwoman, Wonder Woman, and Supergirl save the world during World War II.
  • Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. My opinion on Saga has not changed: it’s still very much incredible. Space Romeo and Juliet with blood, swearing, sex, conflict, and an actual good love story.
  • The Wicked + The Divine, by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie. I’m still behind on Wic+Div but ravenously catching up and madly in love with the characters, the weird ass twisting plot, and the art. God, the art alone is incredible.
  • Patsy Walker, aka Hellcat, by Kate Leth and Brittney Williams. Patsy Walker is me, I am Patsy Walker, I love her and her hijinks are so fun, smart, silly, and sweet.
  • Bitch Planet, by Kelly Sue Deconnick and Valentine De Landro. If you haven’t heard about Bitch Planet and you’ve been following me or caring about progressive comics at all, I don’t know what happened to you. Bitch Planet is the kind of comic that can change your life.
  • Pretty Deadly, by Kelly Sue Deconnick and Emma Rios. Westerns meet manga meet a wildly colored hellscape of frontier and war-torn fields and Hell itself. There’s reapers and blood and some of the most truly stunning storytelling I’ve seen in a long time. They’re a dream team, this is an experience. (I just got Vol. 2 and am so excited to read it and catch up.)
  • Clean Room, by Gail Simone and Jon Davis-Hunt. If you’re looking to feel immensely unnerved, you’ve come to the right book. It’s too early in for me to understand even a quarter of what’s happening in this series’s world but I love it.

Coming soon to my bookshelf:

Angel CatbirdThe Secret Loves of Geek Girls, She Changed Comics, Kim and Kim, Monstress, Lady Killer, Attack on Titan (feat. Gail Simone, AHH), Pudge: Girl Blimp (by  legendary Lee Marrs), Mirror, Plutona….

Things I need to finally start or finally catch up on:

Sex Criminals, Low, Outcast, Morning Glories, Paper Girls……well, actually, that’s a list too long for any blog post.

Did I miss something good? Got suggestions? Love or hate something on this list? Chime in.

Got something to say?

