Nonbinary Creators Project · Queer comics

Nonbinary Creators Project: Sam Pedrazoli

tumblr_obugiujijh1r7jgvto1_1280

Yo I’m sam, spaghetti-based artist from florida. I’m a 21 year old pansexual NB noodle who’s been dabbling in art for about 10 years. Pronouns don’t matter to me as long as the person i’m speaking with understands my identity.

What do you do? (Write, draw, edit, publish, promote etc.)
How did you get started doing that?
I draw, play video games, and try to inspire as many people as possible. My brother was my initial inspiration for drawing, i always wanted to do everything he did. He loved drawing cardcaptor sakura, i wish he hadn’t ever stopped drawing and i wish he’d pick it back up again. I didn’t really take art seriously until I met my current best friend of 10 years. Her name is turtle! Her art was super gorgeous (always has been, still love everything she drew 10 years ago) and it really made me want to pick up art for real. She was my first real inspiration and i’m so grateful everyday that i’m able to draw the way i can now because of her. She was the beginning of everything!

com__turtle_by_retrofluff-d82nqim turtle_by_retrofluff-d9h3du7

(This art and more on their Deviantart!)

What was your first comic to create? Why that one? First to read?
I first started my webcomic 10 years ago but only recently started publishing it. It was in the works for all those years until i was able to finally condense the entirety of it into a few pages front and back. The story is very dear to me and it deserved to be told.

My first read comic was probably tokyo mew mew, but we’re gonna say my biggest influence was arina tanemura and clamp for sure. I watched pokemon and ccs far before i really read anything.

sakura_by_retrofluff-d8beq1a

(Buy this print and more on their Society6!)

Any current or upcoming projects we can find you on?
I’m working on my webcomic, Averill, first and foremost, but I do have other comics planned for the future! They’re mostly fantasy and lgbt based bc real ppl are boring and the lgbt community deserves more fun, representational comics. You can currently read my webcomic on tumblr and tapastic!

tumblr_nw9dwg9hni1uija6yo1_1280

Favorite inspiration, collaborators, other professionals you’ve worked with if any?
Naylemonstre, sacetcendre, Vicki  Tsai (vickisigh), Stephen Mcgowan (redbeanviolin), degamo, Leslie Hung (milkmanner), and hamletmachine are all tumblr artists i strongly admire for their unique style, lines, and color. I also strongly admire arina tanemura, kiyo QJO, clamp, zakk, kishi torajirou, fuyumi soryo, yoshihiro togashi, park sang sun, and the list goes on and on…

i have collabed with a few artist friends of mine, but i adore doing art trades with strangers!

Anyone you’d like to collaborate with some day? Why?
Literally anyone on my insp list, to dream is a wonderful thing.

Favorite genre to read? To work in? Are there any you won’t work in?
I love horror, fantasy, and, of course, romance. I prefer working with monsters in fantasy settings.

tumblr_oe8qt2sboo1r7jgvto1_500

Have you ever faced adversity/discouragement for being nonbinary in your field? How did you overcome it?
I have not! I’m not very open about my gender identity, but i do leave it in bio descriptions in case anyone ever reads those. No one has ever attacked me or spoken rudely about my work based on my identity.

Coolest moment you’ve had as a creator?
Seeing my work as a real, physical thing right before my eyes is the most appealing part. I love knowing i put a lot of hard effort into something and had fun producing it.

My biggest moment was one of my friends telling me they went int art because of me! Most of the time it’s hard to see, but posting art can make a difference (even if you get no feedback, someone still sees!)

tumblr_o7cgfn1zlb1r7jgvto1_500

How do you think the current comics industry is toward those outside the gender binary, and to the concept of gender in general? What can we do to improve it further and create a safe space?
I think some parts of the industry are learning to be more okay with it, but i also think some areas have always embraced it in someway, albeit subtly. There’s definitely room for improvement though. A more realistic and positive representation would be awesome. You rarely see nonbinary people in works of fiction that look predominantly feminine or masculine, it takes away representation.

color_wheel_meme_by_retrofluff-d91i2xg

(Tons more art on their Tumblr!)

Who are some of your favorite/most inspirational characters to read? What about in other media (novels, TV, movies, pop culture)? Why?
I LOVE characters who face adversity with postivity, and characters like sakura kinomoto who care deeply about their family and friends. Wholesome things that make me want to better myself. Also characters like peter parker, who’ve been through hard times but are a better person because of them. I really adore monster characters that don’t conform to human standards of identity, who see themselves as something more than an anatomical explanation.

adoptable_3__open__by_retrofluff-d6wegib adoptable_2__open__by_retrofluff-d6wdlm8

heaven_is_a_place_on_earth__by_retrofluff-d949utn

What do comics mean to you?
They’re a nice escape and i feel like i learn more about myself by reading them. A lot of what i read, i can see myself in. My past experiences, my current situations and emotions, it’s easier to get a grasp on what i want and need to do whenever i read webcomics. It sets both my life and art in motion.

cpjplmyumaahbka cpjaewdukaak8ed

Advice to other nonbinary creators in the field?
Be as honest and open as possible and it’ll definitely reflect in your work. If you’re having fun with what you’re creating, it’ll attract the intended audience! Seek out artists and creators like yourself, there’s no bigger inspiration.

What are you currently reading?
i’m currently reading snot girl, i strongly relate to her allergy problems and the need to also stay presentable and gorgeous. It’s a good read so far :^)

cqgog3nuiaacfno


Interested in participating in the Nonbinary Creators Spotlight project? Use this form! Find other nonbinary creator spotlights here!

Got something to say?

