Female Creators Project

Female Creators Project: K.L. Ricks

 
portrait2016-portfolio_450
Hello, I’m K. L. Ricks, I’m 25, I’m from New England and I’m the creator of “Country Darkness” for Hazlitt. My website is klricks.com and I’m @RealKix on Twitter.

What do you do? (Write, draw, edit, publish, promote etc.)
I’m a cartoonist and illustrator. 
hazlitt-1

How did you get started doing that?
I’ve always enjoyed drawing and comics and I studied illustration at college and decided that’s what I wanted do with the rest of my life.

What was your first comic? Why that one?

My first comic was the second issue of “The Dark Knight Returns”, my mother had bought it and it was probably the first comic I ever saw, I was 4-5 I couldn’t really read it. I was totally mystified by it.

Any current or upcoming projects we can find you on?

“Country Darkness” and I have some other work coming soon.

Favorite inspiration, collaborators, other professionals you’ve worked with if any?

Zachary Clemente, the creator of “Remnants” and Anshuman Iddamsetty, my art director for “Country Darkness.” They’ve both trusted me and that means a lot to me.
image
(Buy Remnants here.)
 
Favorite genre to read? To work in? Are there any you won’t work in?
I love mysteries but I think I prefer watching them as opposed to reading them, I would love to write a mystery or detective comic. I love working in sci-fi/fantasy and bending it to get what I want out of those genres. I’d be down to work in any genre, they all have their strengths and weaknesses but its worth it to explore and be open to new things.
klricks-adventuretime_670
(Adventure Time #49 variant cover)

Have you ever faced adversity/discouragement for being a woman in your field? How did you overcome it?
Yes! I’m a woman of color and like my poc peers I often have to work twice as hard to get half as much as my white peers, probably for the rest of my life. I’m overcoming it be by refusing to believe I’m disposable or not destined for great things.
f8bb48e05dbf46544d29b2186966a36d
(“Evening/Morning/Night.” Buy this and other prints in her store.)
 
Coolest moment you’ve had as a creator?
Definitely the response to “Country Darkness” when it first launched. I’m a confident person but I prepared myself for it to be passed over or not well-received but the response was incredible. Not only were my friends cheering me on but so were people I’d never met and now know because of this comic, as well as artists I admire. It’s a great feeling.

How do you think the current comics industry is toward women? What can we do to improve it further and create a safe space?
Its absolutely repulsive. Continuing to support each other as well as not being afraid to criticize each other when needed I believe ultimately help push out the people in the industry trying to keep us out.
 
What do comics mean to you?
Because the definition of what constitutes a comic is so loose, it creates a level playing field for everyone that wants to get involved, anyone who wants to tell their story. Because of that the medium is constantly evolving and its really exciting and beautiful to see and be a part of.
fam-1-twit_670
(Familiar excerpt. Read the rest on her tumblr.)

Advice to other female creators in the field?
Take care of yourself, you’re stronger than you can imagine and your voice and vision is of the utmost value.

What are you currently reading?
I’m re-reading “Boy, Snow, Bird” by Helen Oyeyemi, its one of my favorite books. I also just read “I Am Princess X” by Cherie Priest and Kali Ciesemier and it was an excellent read.

tumblr_ng30x3vnq21qm6xl7o1_1280
(Illustrations for “The Dreadful Tale of Wilbur Sluktip” by Iain Marlow for The Feathertale Review #14)
Want to join the project yourself? Email ab188302@reddies.hsu.edu or hit me on twitter @Beebidon!
One thought on “Female Creators Project: K.L. Ricks

Got something to say?

