Artist Features

An Artist a Week

The thought occurs to me that, while not always comic-related, a facebook project I’m doing might be relevant to this blog. Starting at the beginning of this year, I embarked on a voyage of posting one artist a week that I am inspired by/enjoy/like/whatever, to share with others and push me to pay more attention to art and expand. I’ve just finished Week 9, so here’s what you’ve missed and I guess from now on I’ll cross post both here and there!

12439151_1035575999840085_3880592955148207328_n
Week 1: Theodor Geisel, Dr. Seuss
“Green Cat With Lights”

I feel more for Dr. Seuss than I think words can ever express. He has been the voice of nonsense and life lessons from childhood as early as I can remember, through today and every day after. His art and imagination have shaped me throughout the years. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve been exposed to more of his work, his “secret” pieces, and though they are not children’s stories they are still full of a youthful view, a clever bite, an insatiable love for color and life. I owe much of my own energy to him.

See more of his non-kid’s-book art in “The Secret Art of Dr. Seuss” which you can buy on Amazon.

12510397_1039226302808388_4542663541527727925_n

Week 2: Tara McPherson
“Supernova II” (2014)

Tara McPherson is the first artist that I, as an adult, discovered and loved purely for her art. Prior to her, it had been artists who were also authors I had read, video game creators, movie makers etc. She was the first that caught me purely as an artist, enough where I sought out her art to buy and have in my home.

Her vivid colors, all-similar-yet-unique cutesy women, playful dark hints, and creative imagery all are so charming to me. While I love her drawings and sketches, it is her amazing bright color pieces that really draw me in. The way she uses space and water are so dreamlike and the perfect kind of cutesy bubblegum with edge.

More of her work at her website. P.s. She has a kickstarter  for a game that just got funded and I’m so excited.

12494812_1042086975855654_6711354004797186838_n

Week 3: Alphonse Mucha
“Champagne Printer Publisher”(1897)

Long before I knew what art nouveau was or who Alphonse Mucha was, I was fascinated with swirl backgrounds and line definition true to his style. When I found the style and him, it was like I had found my dream come true for inspiration. The knowing, kind smiles of his muse-like portraits and the muted yet beautiful colors only added to the allure. Art nouveau remains by far my favorite style to draw and see, gracing tarot decks and old advertising alike with poise and a seamless balance of detail and simplicity.

12573723_1046266382104380_2446687540398427933_n

Week 4: Cody Vrosh (of Binary Winter Press)
“Electric Darkness”
Cody Vrosh is a discovery from San Diego comic con 2015 and I could not be happier to have found him. His work, primarily coffee stain and watercolor, is absolutely my favorite aesthetic. He also has such beautiful faces, grasp of composition and color, and blends so many elements (beauty, tech, nature, satire). (He’s also a really neat guy to talk to and he is endlessly witty in his writing.)

More of his work on his Etsy.

12662697_1049054398492245_8176766716378885129_n

Week 5: Camilla D’errico
“Fukurou”

Camilla is another Comic Con find. Her sketches and acrylic are lovely, as is her book Tanpopo–which draws off Faust among others–but my favorites are her oil paintings. There is a Manga influence in her work, and like many of my favorites, a profound innocent sadness. They are so deep and easy to fall into, to feel the pain and love and loss and emotion of each. The colors are obviously gorgeously rich too.-

More of her work on her website.

12654230_1052261144838237_3822906735782016431_n

Week 6: Judyta “Fukari” Murawska
“Lavender” (2014)

Fukari is an artist I kept seeing around tumblr and falling more and more madly in love with each time. Her OCs (original characters) are particularly amazing–this picture is of her OC Anne Marie.

Fuki’s linework is truly inspirational–I’m a sucker for sketchy lines–as is her bright pops of color. Her characters capture emotion in breathtakingly sweet and genuine ways. I recently bought her first ever available-for-purchase art book of sketches; my only complaint is that she doesn’t have a book of color pieces (yet!).

You can find her at her deviantart Her sketchbook, “Some Nice Things” as well as a FREE 180-page calendar with her work and some great others in it are available through The Ahoy Publishing . (I promise I’m not sponsored by her, I just love her stuff so much and she’s still very much a small artist.)

12687811_1055461924518159_9064182331513750536_n

Week 7: David Mack
(left: Daredevil; right: Kabuki)

David Mack, currently helping with the art for the graphic novel Fight Club 2, is a comic book artist with a super beautiful collage multimedia style. He uses watercolors, inks, collage and a whole multitude of styles that really pull me in and stun me with their layout, complexity, and intricacy.

On a related note, I had already planned to choose David Mack for this week and then earlier the day I posted I won a small contest in class, for which the prize was a free comic–Kabuki #4 by David Mack.

Find all of David Mack’s books on Amazon.

12745477_1062272303837121_3068571838407851164_n

Week 8: Naoki Katakai (and the rest of the Okami art team)
Okami (Ryoshima Coast restoration cutscene)

So, this week’s artist (in addition to being late, woops) is not necessarily one artist. This is for the entire creative team of the PS2/3/Wii game, Okami (and to a lesser degree, the 3DS sequel). I’ve given a nod to the head art director, Naoki Katakai but honestly it’s hard to give just one person credit.

Okami is a fucking transcendent video game. This post is simply about the artwork and design–incredibly simple, vibrant, soft, and strong all at once–but I could also advise those reading to play it (especially on the wii, whose controls work really well for it, unpopular opinion as that is) or at least check out the soundtrack.

I have been madly in love with the traditional-emulating style of the watercolors, the character design (with so many badass women!) and the animation of the game. Seriously. It’s just my favorite.

Check out more of the art on the website or buy it on Amazon. P.s. the artbook was one of the best gifts I’ve ever received in my life.

11260345_1064041463660205_3260233643467540795_o

Week 9: David Mazzucchelli
“Asterios Polyp” (2009)

This is going to be a post about Mazzucchelli’s work “Asterios Polyp” because I’m not very familiar with his other comic work. However, I could write a million posts about this graphic novel and still not cover its breadth of genius, so it’s okay.

Asterios Polyp is a graphic novel experience that transcends words. It is truly the kind of masterpiece that needs to be reread over and over. The amount of clever symbolism fucking ASTOUNDS me, and Mazzucchelli is a genius when it comes to art.

His composition, braiding, panel layout, color choices, and character design are immensely unique and honestly transform the graphic novel form in so many ways. I’ll put more examples in the comments but his subtleties of voice for each character extend into their color scheme, their style of lines/shading, even their word bubble shape and font. For further proof that he’s a subtle genius, he even gave a child the subtle combination of its parents’ fonts and speech bubble shapes. Brilliant.

Buy it on Amazon and check out some amazing snippets of it here, here, here, here, here, here, or here. (Sorry, there are just too many good ones to pick from.)

Look for new posts every week!

4 thoughts on “An Artist a Week

Got something to say?

